Admissions & Requirements
Admission Policies and Requirements upon Enrollment
Class A Barber license and all other courses (excluding the Instructor course): Student must be at least 17 years of age.
For the Instructor course, the applicant must be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or its equivalent and hold a valid Class A Barber license.
All students are required to provide to IBA:
- State issued Driver’s License/ID or Alien Registration
- Proof of Education (Diploma or GED)
- Two 2x2 passport photos
- The $150.00 TDLR student permit/admin fee*
- Any other tuition or fees agreed upon by student and Innovative Barber Academy*
- Proof of HS Diploma or GED**
*All down payments must be received prior to first day of class.
**Several institutions may offer GED Programs/Testing. Disclaimer: The inclusion of links from this site does not imply endorsement or support of any of the linked information, services, products or providers. Innovative Barber Academy LLC (IBA Texas) makes no effort to verify information outside of www.ibatexas.com domain.
No one will be denied admission based on race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, age, handicap or area of origin. However, admission may be denied if a student is unable to demonstrate manual dexterity, inability to maintain Performance Standards, inability to maintain financial responsibility, disciplinary issues, or cannot meet (TDLR) Criminal Conviction Guidelines. These guidelines are issued by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation pursuant to the Texas Occupations Code, §53.025(a). These guidelines describe the process by which the TDLR determines whether a criminal conviction renders an applicant an unsuitable candidate for the license, or whether a conviction warrants revocation or suspension of a license previously granted. The questionable offenses are: assault, homicide, sexual offenders and kidnapping.
Upon enrollment the student agrees to abide by all rules and regulations currently in effect or those which become effective at any time during enrollment. The student understands that he or she will be eligible to take applicable exams under the state law when he or she has completed the required course and has received a certificate of graduation.
The student is responsible for his or her tools. If broken, lost or stolen the student is liable for the cost of the equipment.
A registration fee for enrollment (and re-enrollment) of $150.00 is required of all students entering Innovative Barber College.
Application and Permit Fee
You will need to complete an application approved by the TDLR and pay their required permit fee. This application and fee must be mailed by the institution on the class start date. Students transferring from another school are only required to pay our $150.00 registration fee prior to starting. The TDLR does not require a second application for a student permit on a transfer. This permit must be received by Innovative Barber College before the student will be able to perform services on a client.
All tuition, registration, kit, and book fees are due and payable prior to the first day of class. Payment plans must be arranged through the school upon enrollment. We accept cash, credit/debit cards, cashier’s checks and money orders.
Innovative Barber College may offer full or partial scholarships for students who do not qualify for financial aid. They must meet the following criteria:
- Must be a person of moral character who has never been convicted of a felony.
- Must maintain above average attendance.
- Must write an essay on why they are choosing to be a Class A Barber, or Instructor etc.
- Must purchase tool kit from the school.
Each student that applies for a transfer from another school to Innovative Barber Academy will be considered on an individual basis. Those students accepted for transfer will be given appropriate credit for their previous training in accordance with the states regulations. Credit deemed appropriate must have been received from legally acquired hours certified by the TDLR. A complete transcript from the previous institution including a statement indicating the student has completed their financial obligations must be received. All admission requirements must be met. Students transferring programs within the institution will not be allowed to transfer hours from one program to the next.